Decent Person

Going to church makes into you a decent person about as much as standing at the airport makes you a plane.  What makes you a decent person is being kind, forgiving and fair minded to all the people you meet.  Being a decent person has to be a habit all day long every day, not a visit once a week to some building on a street corner.  Always keep yourself  straight up and the rest will pretty much take care of itself.

4 comments on “Decent Person

  1. I used to tell the same thing to my mother, “Going to church doesn’t make a person good,” and down through the years I stayed far from church going she’d tell me the same thing, “Visiting God’s house once a week could help a person want to be good for the rest of the week!” I finally, in my much later years, came to love God on a much more personal level than ever before. No one knows the heart and soul of a churchgoer or a church abstainer. We cannot judge folks who attend church weekly or those who do not. But attending church services for me makes me feel closer to the God Who loves me, so Mama was right: going there to pray encourages me to be good for the rest of the week!

    Salvatore Buttaci, author of 200 SHORTS

    • Dewey Dirks says:

      Thank you for your comment Salvatore. It’s good that you strive to be a more ethical person and that you’ve found something the seems to work for you. I’ve known quite a few people who are ethical people and who think church does them good and quite a few who are quite ethical and have no use for church. I’ve also known quite a few that went to church once a week and managed to act pretty junky the rest of the week and a bunch as well who neither go to church nor are ethical….

  2. Dewey, my complaint is with the generalization that most churchgoers are hypocrites who spend only one day a week praising God. That’s hardly true in my experience. Most of the churchgoers I know are out there loving and imitating Christ on a daily basis. We will always have exceptions to the rule. Some will attend church and believe they have fulfilled their obligation of being a good person. For them a wake-up call is needed. I got mine many years ago when I saw God’s love and power demonstrated in my life and in the lives of others.

    • Dewey Dirks says:

      Salvatore, you need to read the decent person post again. It doesn’t make or imply any generalizations about the moral status of churchgoers. It doesn’t contain the words ‘all’ or ‘most’ nor does it imply them. It is comprised only of the observations that standing in a church makes you into a decent person about as much as standing in a airport makes you a plane, that acting like a decent person all day every day is what makes you a decent person, and the opinion that if you are straight up the rest will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

