Horses, Dogs and Hope

Horses, Dogs, and Hope
(For Sally)

Last night I was talking
to my friend pretty Arila
She said, “I am a bartender
boobs, beer and fast talk
are my job.
I’m a blond and I pretend
to be dumb because
no one expects much more.
What I really like are
horses and my dog.
I wanted to be an artist once
but my dad said I couldn’t
make any money that way
so I left all that behind.”

I took a sip
of my drink and said,
“You are as bright
as the morning sun Arila.
I know a sharp cookie
when I see one.
Horses, dogs and hope
are in your eyes Arila
Horses dogs and hope
are what beat in your heart.
They sleep with you
in your dreams at night
and will help you though
the longest days ahead.”

I said, “You remind
me very much
of a good friend of mine
who died just last year.
Lenny said for years and years
she wanted to be an artist
but her dad told her
not to do that sort of thing
and so she became an nurse instead.
She told me in the last days of her life
her biggest regret was only
that she never became an artist
but listened instead
to what her father had said.

Listen Arila,
it’s true art is a hard, hard life
many give up before they are done
and many remain starving artists
to the end of their days.
You’re already having a hard time
making ends meet.
You might as well
have a hard time making ends meet
while you’re doing
something that you love.
Keep your day job
to help you put food on the table
but when you go home at night
sit and draw
a thing or two at your table.
With your dog by your side
put an easel by your bed.

People don’t have dreams Arila
unless they are the kind
worth making come true.
It’s not how far you get
down a road in life
but only what roads you travel
and who you meet along the way.
The journey to where you want to go
is always worth more,
than the destination my friend

Artists are never really alone
and always have
a few friends around them.
Artists end up marrying their art
and never are very lonely
with an easel by their bed.

Horses, dogs and hope
are in your eyes Arila.
Horses dogs and hope
are what beat in your heart.
Horses, dogs and hope
sleep every night with you.
Horses, dogs and hope
will help you though
the longest days ahead.

Dewey Dirks copyright 2011

11 comments on “Horses, Dogs and Hope

  1. elbrigaking says:

    half funny, half touching, but always amazing, thank you for posting!

  2. Linda Blare says:

    tears came in and drank a warm cup of coffee on a cold night as I read this Dewey. wonderful…thank you for sharing

  3. This is a great poem. What I truly enjoyed was the subject and content. Would you mind if I featured this on my blog?

  4. Tendekai says:

    beautifully written,simple and pure words weaved together, I’m inspired

    Tendez

  5. masido says:

    wow! i love this!

Leave a Reply

