Prisoners Song

Prisoners Song

I live by myself with a pen a few papers
I am a prisoner kept under lock and key
Like a hermit alone in a teeming metropolis
With nothing but my diary
No one ever sees what I write
No one ever sees what I see
But how can my keepers know that the ideas I have
Aren’t popping out like flowers
On another man papers half-way around the world
Across the vast sea
Now, I think life likes good ideas
So who’s to say that somewhere far across time
The things I say don’t spring like fresh rain
And pour out of another mans pen
Like water out of a bottomless cup
Across a world distant and unknown to me

Dewey Dirks

Leave a Reply

